top of page

Why I love College Football

Updated: Nov 11, 2020

The year is 2013, it is a brisk September Saturday and in my living room at Stadium Park apartments on the campus of the University of Central Arkansas, there are three TV's. One with College Gameday, one with the SEC network, and one with NCAAA 14 being played by one of my roommates. It was glorious. There are six people in our apartment at the moment, and they all stayed the whole day to watch college football.


College football brings people together. I mean just look at any SEC stadium and there are over 70,000 people packing multiple stadiums to the brim. Cheering, yelling, drinking. All just great stuff.


College football gives us match ups that the NFL jus cannot give. You have massive underdogs beating top ranked teams. **cough** cough** Appalachian State v. Michigan. You have a double wing offense at Navy or Army playing a high flying offense from Texas Tech or Washington State. Or a pro style offense from LSU set to take on a spread, no huddle, read option attack out of the plains of Auburn, Alabama.


Did I forget to mention the awesome uniforms? You have latest in design from Nike, Under Armour, and Adidas every year. Oregon rolling out a new jersey every week or Ohio State with a new scheme....or a return to glory years for teams like the Arkansas Razorbacks.


Last and certainly not least, the rivalries. The Iron Bowl. The Big Game. The Largest Cocktail Party. The Red River Shootout. Games that I say the name and you know know the teams. Not to mention Arkansas v. LSU, Ohio State v. Michigan State, Miami v. Florida State. Seriously I could keep going.


But in the end, the real reason I love College Football is simple. I can sit with my friends and family, pour a cold drink on a Saturday, kick-back, chow-down on great food, and get ready to CALL THOSE HOGS. Woo. Damn. Pig.



By: Colby Harber




19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page